Home > figma, Figure Review > Review: Figma 082 Luka Megurine by Max Factory

Review: Figma 082 Luka Megurine by Max Factory

December 16, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Luka Title

For a popular Vocaloid such as Luka Megurine, there are surprisingly few figures of her available to the mass market. I own the Nendoroid Petit but the pose on her is a little meh. The full Nendoroid just looks like a bigger version and there are a few Nendoroid variations and statues floating around. So when the Figma was announced, I was ecstatic, and it seemed many of you were as well. Does she live up to the hype though?


Luka the diva

But before we get to that, a little background info about Luka for the uninitiated. Luka is a mascot for one of the voicebanks of Crypton Media’s Vocaloid voice synthesizers much like her counterparts Hatsune Miku, Kaito, and Kagamine Rin and Len. But thanks largely in part to communities like NicoNico Douga, the Vocaloids have become an popularized with countless songs, music videos, art, games, etc. You can look up more info on Luka here. Here are some of my favorite Luka songs:

 

RIP=RELEASE

Luka Luka Night Fever

Luka Megurine and her tuna

Today I’ll be trying out some daylight lighting for my review shots. I’ve found it a bit hard since I can’t control it as well and I’ve had to go back and reshoot half my photos. But anyways, you’re here to hear about Luka. She is a good looking Figma with her glossy black cheongsam and her gold trim is actually metallic looking. I especially love how good the gold looks on her boots. Her pink hair actually looks more vibrant than it does in her promo shots. Personally I like the promo shot because it’s more of a cherry blossom pink, maybe I should have left her in the sun a little longer to fade her. ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Luka holding her tuna 1Luka with tuna 2

 

As you can see, Luka comes with her signature tuna, which I’m glad they made so awesome and big. The tuna reminds me of those wall-mounted fish but its surprisingly light for such a large accessory so you can have Luka happily whacking away with it and her wrists will mostly support it. Luka comes with hands to grasp the tuna like on the left photo, the tuna is pretty slippery so I found it easiest to hook the hands under the tuna’s fins. Or you can do it like the right picture and its time for some tuna whackage!

figma Luka with her microphone

Luka also comes with a gold retro microphone which can disassemble into 3 parts. I wish the height was adjustable because she always has to be facing up to sing into the microphone. Personally I thought this accessory was a little redundant since she already has her headset mic but if you asked me what I would replace it with, I’d be at a loss. Luka comes with an additional singing face so that she can do her Vocaloid thing on either mic.

Luka's side
Let’s talk articulation. First of all, the hair. Luka happens to have the right length hair where it’s difficult for Max Factory. Long enough where it limits pose-ability and messes with the stand but too short to put a hinge (like Tsuruya). They’ve gotten over this issue by having the hair flowing a little outward behind her. Also, Max Factory has included a spiffy extension to the figma stand that helps to attach it to her back under the hair. I’d love another one of these for my Ryoko Asakura figma. The front bit of the hair is soft PVC so you can move it around however you want. However, her back hair is permanently blowing behind her so it limits you to shots where she’s doing some action. If you try to have her sleeping or something, not going to work with flowing hair and billowing dress. Speaking of the dress, it’s fairly rigid plastic and not very flexible so it limits pose-ability. The dress is actually in 2 parts that overlap a bit so there is a slight bit of give but not much. The pic above with her leaping with tuna in hand is the farthest her right leg will come up in her dress slit. And forget moving the left leg much. Basically she can’t sit or even kneel. As much as I’m blasting Max Factory for all this, it’s understandable. I’d rather have the hair and dress flowing instead of flat. Any figma with this length hair will always have it as one hunk of plastic. Long dresses will always limit pose-ability and making it all soft plastic is too expensive. The se.kirara school uniform is actually more limiting than Luka’s.

Luka's box and accessories

Anyways, in spite of the inflexibility of this Figma, I still love it and she is one of my favorites. The sculpt and colors are good enough so that in the few poses you can put Luka in, she looks awesome. And theres the bias of me being a Luka fan. But if I had no idea who Luka was, I’ll be honest, I’d probably hate on this figure a lot more. The accessories are a bit limited, the pose-ability is pretty bad, and she only comes with 2 expressions. Even if you don’t know who Luka Megurine is, her character design might be awesome enough for you to bite as well. And if you are a Luka fan, this is a must get. There aren’t many Luka figures out there and this is easily one of the best and cheapest. We got her at AmiAmi for 2080 yen and you can also pick her up from Hobby Search for 2266 yen.

Luka jamming on her axe

Luka borrows Yuki's guitar


Luka steps out on stage

The concerts starting! Luka steps out on stage!


Luka sings sweetly

The crowd falls silent as Luka begins to sing


The concert is heating up

Luka wows the crowd

These are the papercraft wings that come with Live stage Miku that I luckily managed to find a scan online and color adjusted and touched up to fit Luka. I like them a lot and Luka’s on my desk currently stuck with them on. Click on the image to get the full-sized version. Enjoy!

Luka Live stage wings[PNG]

Luka flying away
Luka Angel

  1. December 16, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Wings remind me of Love Machine in Summer Wars.

    • December 16, 2010 at 8:26 pm

      I really like his halo-thing but since he’s not on my ordered list, maybe I’ll try making a papercraft version for my other figmas.

  2. December 17, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Would look nicer if printed on a transparent file, if it’s possible. ^^”

    • December 17, 2010 at 11:47 am

      Post updated. Click on the [PNG] link below the image for a transparent background version

  3. ~Spark~
    December 20, 2010 at 6:21 am

    Thanks for the review! I’m still planing out my buying of Luka but when I do, she will be my first Figma ever. (It’s going to be my new hobby)
    Great quality pictures BTW.

    • December 20, 2010 at 9:15 am

      Thanks Spark! Figmas are a dangerous thing to get into, theres so many good ones that they become addictive! Luka is a good starter, her flexibility isn’t the greatest but at least she is sturdier than other figmas like Black Rock Shooter. A lot of people started with BRS and ended up breaking theirs (although we did too) because they underestimated how fragile Figmas are. Here’s a video on how to pose and handle Figmas if you’re interested.

      • ~Spark~
        December 21, 2010 at 12:34 am

        Thanks for the info, if I didn’t watch that video I probably would have been noobish and broken Luka-san on the first day XD
        It seems figmas are going to be lots of fun!

  4. December 21, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    It’s funny how popular these vocaloids are I must admit that I never listened
    to a song from them, I only know these vocaloid characters from artworks and illustrations ๐Ÿ˜€

    Lukas dress is the prettiest one I’ve seen on a figma, gold and black is a great
    color combination,Riders dress is the second prettiest for me.

    the tuna is funny Im wondering if Luka has some kind of relation
    to creatures from the sea,the nendoroid of her came with octopus like creatures.

    the microphone is a nice item but I don’t really understand what has influences on the decision about the number of faces they put in the box.
    2 are a bit less regarding the few items she comes with.

    The newly designed baseholder is nice Id like to have it for my Izumi figma,
    her hair is a bit in the way ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • December 22, 2010 at 10:30 am

      Ah, you should give them a listen! I used to hate their robotic sounding voices but some of Luka’s songs and especially Append Miku ones are really good. And the music videos the community makes are GREAT. If you liked that Mayoi video, you will like some of the Miku ones like this
      I’m looking at my other Figmas and yeah, Luka’s dress is pretty much the best. In the right light, you can see the sparkly glitter in the gold paint like in LukaG-2.jpg. Fate T Harlaown’s jacket comes in second for me, I love me the uniform.
      Vocaloids have their own special items, Miku has her leeks, Kaito has his ice cream, and Luka has her tuna. Have no idea how it became tuna, lol. As for Tako Luka, she was created by a fan that thought Luka’s hair looked like octopus tentacles.
      I am a bit miffed on the faces and accessories as well but Luka by herself is so cool, I’m still happy I got her.
      It WOULD be awesome with Izumi! Yup, just tested it and damn, it works nice. At least Izumi isn’t as bad as the Asakura figma from the Haruhi series. She’s impossible to put into a stand so I have her sitting on a chair at the moment, lol.
      And thanks for the compliment! Took me awhile of experimenting to get that one shot, pity none of my other ones in that setup came out nicely.

  5. December 21, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Oh I forgot something, this picture here LukaG-3.jpg is really cool
    the stage setup looks awesome and Luka fits in very well =)

  6. December 22, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Luka looks quire nice, regret a bit that I passed on her.
    Although I must say, I feel like Max Factory for a bit lazy with
    the hair and skirt kinda makes me feel like they could have done
    something more manageable. Neat idea with the wings, the fit Luka
    quite well.

    • December 22, 2010 at 10:39 am

      Shes still available if you change your mind and who knows, maybe she’ll go in the bargain bin? As much as I lament about the inflexibility of her hair, its pretty much standard for that length of hair. I have 3 figmas with that length hair (another review of one of those is coming soon) and Luka’s is the easiest to manage thanks to that stand accessory and the fact its flowing outwards. The dress, now that I’m comparing it, isn’t as bad as the se.kirara girls but they could have put hinges on it like the Saber figmas.
      Thanks! I made a different colored version for another figma and although it doesn’t look as good as it does on Luka, it is quite fun

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

