Home > figma, Figure Review > Review: Figma 079 Makinami Mari Illustrious

Review: Figma 079 Makinami Mari Illustrious

December 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Mari is a great example of why I love the Figma line and I had so much fun playing around with her while I was taking review shots that I ended up with a lot more than I usually do! She was pretty much a must buy for both of us, being your typical long time Evangelion fans and all but I wasn’t really all that excited about her Figma at first. Mari is a newer character to the franchise and hasn’t had the time to grow on me as much as original cast has but yeeeah, I ended up falling for the Figma as soon as I opened her plastic blister.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma

Mari Makinami Illustrious is a character who was recently introduced to the massively popular Neon Genesis Evangelion franchise and has thus far only made an appearance in Evangelion 2.0: You Can (Not) Advance, the second of the Rebuild of Evangelion series of movies. If you’d like to more about Mari, check out her page on the Eva Geeks Wiki.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma

Max Factory’s Figma Mari retails at 3048 yen which is a bit more than the usual Figma price but she comes with a poseable entry plug cockpit (which I’ll take a look at soon) so you’re getting your money’s worth! Mari herself is a pleasure to look at and I love the way they have done her joints.. they’re not really all that prominent for a figure in a skintight plugsuit. Speaking of the plugsuit, I like how it’s got a shiny plastic look to it and paint wise, I can only find a few small overpaints here and there.. although our copy of Mari has a slight overpaint around the mouth of her Beast Mode face which is a bit of a shame.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma

As the above photo suggests, her outfit allows for almost unrestricted poseability and I’m tempted to say that she’s probably one of the most poseable Figma currently available! Mari’s joints are nice and solid, she doesn’t feel fragile at all and I wasn’t afraid to put her into some pretty dynamic poses when taking photos although her joints do pop out sometimes. Her chest joint is great and not fragile at all unlike the notoriously weak Black Rock Shooter Figma chest joint, Mari’s joint would just pop right out of her body when I’d push it too far and it’d just snap right back into place really easily.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma joints

Max Factory have decided to bless Mari with one of those awesome double jointed necks so she can look upwards and downwards! The neck part of her plugsuit sits over the exposed part of her neck joint so that you don’t have to see those ugly joints all over her neck but the lower joint on her neck will start to pop out of the collar of her suit if you make her look upwards too high. Another thing that somewhat annoys me is the way her chest joint leaves a gap between her body and her breasts. It looks kinda strange in some poses!

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma glasses

Yessss, removable glasses! I thought they’d just be attached to her fringe/bangs but they simply slot into them and come out easily. You can’t really do much with them except maybe stick them onto another figma with a small head or something though, haha.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma the beast mode

The ability to be able to put her into the Beast Mode is another great addition to Mari’s Figma although some of the parts for it are damn tiny! The Beast Mode parts include a face with a green eyed face with an absolutely amazing expression that I’m going to have a lot of fun with, two green coloured wrist parts to replace her red wrist parts with and an incredibly tiny green part to replace with the round red “core” like thing on her chest. I think it’s probably the smallest Figma accessory I’ve ever seen!

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma cockpit

The cockpit to what is most likely Unit-02’s entry plug is done well and I was surprised to find that it has much more articulation than I expected. The legs (err.. the part where her legs go) move up, down and also outwards and the arms for the controls have 3 joints each. The paintwork on the cockpit is nice and shiny too although mine got a little scuffed while I was messing around with it trying to get decent poses. There are two plug holes in the back of seat for a Figma stand (2 are included) and one of the holes goes right through the seat so you can attach a claw like clip to it to attach to Mari’s waist to help keep her in place. Mari can sit in the seat quite well without the clip if you don’t want to use it and there is a panel included to cover up the hole left by its absence.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma back view

While on the subject of the claw clip, you can see from the above photo that Mari doesn’t have have a plug hole in her back like most other Figma do so you’ll need to use the claw attachment to attach her to her Figma stand. She stands very well on her own though so you should only need it for more dynamic poses.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma kneeling

I found myself a little annoyed at the lack of a waist joint at first but I think I prefer Mari that way now, the curve of her lower back gives her a really nice shape and I wouldn’t want a joint ruining that! The plastic around the tops of thighs on her hips is soft and flexible so it covers up her hip joints nicely without hindering poseability much.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma box

Oops, forgot to dust the box before taking a photo of it.. but yeah, here it is! Note the small GAINAX holographic sticker in the top left corner of the box.. a good way to see that the Figma is an official one! I haven’t heard of any Mari Figma bootlegs as of yet though. A pink di:stage cover with the name of the movie that Mari is from printed on it is included inside the box.

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma accessories

Figma Mari comes with 11 hands, 3 alternate faces including smiling, smirking and the beast mode expressions, two different hair and neck pieces which allow you to display her with her twintails infront or behind her shoulders, two different wrist pieces in both red and green (for beast mode), two very tiny round chest pieces also both in red and green, a cockpit with removable hand controls, a plastic claw to attach to a Figma stand, two standard Figma stands and a di:stage cover (not shown).

We purchased Mari at AmiAmi for 2380 yen which is around 20% off her retail price. As of writing, they still have some instock here if you’d like to grab one! Another one of my favourite sites,  Hobby Search, also have her instock here for 2590 yen which is around 15% off retail.

I probably don’t need to say it again but I will anyway, Mari is a fantastic Figma and I’d recommend her to fans of her character, of Eva in general.. or if you just like girls in skintight outfits. Preorders for the other 2 female pilots (Asuka and Rei) in Figma form are up at various retailers and we have preordered both of them. I can’t wait to pose them all together! I’d love Figma versions of the male pilots (well, just Shinji and Kaworu) and Misato too but mmm.. I’m not holding my breath for those!

Time to wrap this up with some random photos of me playing around with my toys! Thanks for reading!

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma with nigoki

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma with nigoki

Mari Illustrious Makinami Figma with nigoki

Am I beautiful?

I hate posing with revolver joints, haha. This Unit-02 Revoltech was the first figure I ever bought and she’s missing all her parts except for what she’s using.. ;_;

Figma Mari part swapping

I LOVE VACUUMS

  1. December 14, 2010 at 8:01 am

    wow, great review as always. =D she’s on my wishlist. and my list is getting longer after reading your reviews.lol

    • Zai
      December 14, 2010 at 11:11 pm

      Thanks Dashaman! I had a good time doing this review, well, even more so than usual. 😀
      I’m glad you enjoyed it but feel a little guilty for extending your wishlist, lol.

  2. December 14, 2010 at 11:21 am

    LOL last pic was awesome. Yet to take mine outta the box!

    • Zai
      December 14, 2010 at 11:16 pm

      Thanks for your visit Zh3us and I’m glad you liked that pic! I wasn’t gonna post it since it’s all blurry, ehe.

  3. December 14, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I was skeptical on the lack of a waist joint initially, but I’m glad to see that there are plenty of fun possibilities with her! The figma Eva girls must be the shapeliest figmas out there, even with the joints gaps. She looks like she’d be great to mess around with all sorts of gravure poses.

    I know what you mean when you say she hasn’t had much time to grow on you. As it stands so far, the only thing I like about her is her appearance, since I’m not the biggest fan of her monologues. Here’s hoping she’ll get more development in the next movie!

    • Zai
      December 14, 2010 at 11:28 pm

      I’ll admit to there being a couple of times when posing her where I changed my mind and wished for a jointed waist, especially when trying to do some non generic looking poses with her in her cockpit.

      I can’t wait to see how her character is going to develop in 3.0! While she’s no favourite of mine at the moment, she’s got potential.. I like the kooky ones. 🙂

      Thanks for your comment, Chag!

  4. DarkDreamer
    December 14, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Great review. Mine should arrive this week and I’m also looking forward for Shinji and Kaworu!

    • Zai
      December 14, 2010 at 11:31 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it, DarkDreamer! I hope you have as much fun with her as I do with my Mari.
      I’m looking forward to Asuka the most as I’m a huge fan of hers!

  5. December 15, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Oh nice one 🙂

    your posing potential picture shows her poseability very well
    I like that she comes with two hairstyle parts.
    the cockpit is a nice extra, your other figmas could use
    it as sled in the snow.Upps I forgot you have no snow in Australia.

    In the movie Mari had my simpathy after a few minutes.
    she’s so cool ok a little weird but I like that 😀
    In the movie I haven’t notice that her eyes and wrist parts turned green
    Well I have the Evangelion 2.0 Movie at home, its time for a rewatch 😉
    hmm her open mouth beast mode face looks a bit like Frankenstein 😦
    haha I have this Eva 02 figure,too

    nice pictures again, mari08.jpg and mari18.jpg are awesome

    • Zai
      December 16, 2010 at 6:12 am

      Thank you very much, Fabienne! ^^

      The posing potential pose I put Mari in kept freaking Luth out so I kept her like that for awhile because I’m mean and annoying. 🙂
      Snow! It’s summer here, hehe. I wish we got more snow here though, I think it’d be really fun to take Figma out into the snow!
      Me too, I enjoy weird characters. You’re lucky to have 2.0! I love the movie so much. We just have 1.11 but we need to sell it because it won’t play on the blu-ray player.. D:
      Her beast mode face looks so stupid that I actually love it. xD

      Thank you once again for your compliments!

  6. A Stupid, Careless Person
    December 17, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Great action shots, I love the one of Mari riding Unit 02 into battle.

    I just got my Mari figma in the mail yesterday and somehow managed to lose her glasses already. I crawled over the area I opened the box in with a flashlight but to no avail. I guess if your Unit 02 is missing parts, you are not aware of any way to get replacement Figma accessories? Just thought I’d check. Thanks both for your time and the review. m(__ __)m

    • Zai
      December 18, 2010 at 12:25 am

      Thanks, happy that you like it!

      Awww, I’m sorry to hear that. I’ve been so close to loosing parts too.. some of them are so damn tiny. I don’t know of any place that sells replacement accessories and the closest thing to it that I could find was a place to order replacement Figma parts on Good Smile Company’s website but I can’t understand it well and Google Translate isn’t helping me out much with it. Here is the link, maybe you’ll have a better time with it than me! http://www.goodsmile.info/post/ja/2034/%E3%83%91%E3%83%BC%E3%83%84%E8%B2%A9%E5%A3%B2%E3%83%AA%E3%82%B9%E3%83%88.html

      The only other thing I could suggest is to perhaps contact the retailer which you bought Mari from, they may know of a way to get some more glasses!

  7. NewFigmaCollector
    December 19, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Hi, Zai, thanks for the great review and photos of the various poses! I am wondering if other characters such as the Nanoha girls can go into it. Do you have a chance to put other figmas into the cockpit? 🙂

    • Zai
      December 20, 2010 at 2:53 am

      Hi, and thanks!

      It really depends on what Figma you want to put into the cockpit. Chances are that if the Figma can sit down properly on its backside and it has no large plastic parts sticking out behind it (like long hair, hard plastic skirts, capes, etc) then it should fit into it okay. Some Figma could probably stand forward in the seat without actually sitting down in it properly but it might look a little bit weird if you’re after natural looking poses.

      We only have two Nanoha girls (Fate Barrier Jacket ver. and Signum) but the only one that could sit would be Signum if I took off her hard plastic skirt.

      Let me know if you want any photo examples and I’ll take some for you. 😀

  1. December 22, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

