Home > Figure Review, Nendoroid > Review: Nendoroid Petit Angel Beats! Set 01

Review: Nendoroid Petit Angel Beats! Set 01

I’m always pleasantly surprised by the quality of these tiny Nendoroids whenever we get a new one of them, their detailing is so good for something so small and inexpensive.. and this set is certainly no exception! The extra parts they come with are fantastic too. I had a good time posing and playing around with this set while I was taking photos for this post. Sadly, I ended up breaking Yuri but it wasn’t anything some good ol’ super glue couldn’t fix! I also managed to put not one but two giant paint marks on poor Yusa’s face.. damnit.

Nendoroid petit set 01

The Petit set I’m looking at today consists of three characters from the popular anime Angel Beats! with those three character being Yuri (aka Yurippe), Shiina and Yusa. If you would like to know more about the show and other related Angel Beats projects, check out the Angel Beats Wikipedia article or the Angel Beats Wiki. The anime is a personal favourite of mine and I was delighted when Good Smile Company announced these Nendoroid Petits.. although I was a little puzzled by some of the characters they chose for the first set!

We preordered the set from AmiAmi for 1660 yen, which is 16% off the retail price of 2000 yen. They were manufactured by Good Smile Company and were released late October of this year. Good Smile Company also released petits of both Yuri and Kanade (who is included in Angel Beats Set 02) which were exculsive to Volume 6 and Volume 8 of Dengeki G’s magazine which both came out earlier this year. As far as I can tell from the photos of these exculsives, they are exactly the same as the standard release versions without the extras.

Nendoroid petit Shiina running

I’ll take a look at Shiina first, the stern dual wielding ninja chick with a soft spot for cute things. I like her character design and I think it looks adorable when translated into Nendo form. I’m sure Shiina herself would approve of it too! She comes with the option to display her wielding her dual Kodachi and alternate legs and skirt so she can appear to be running forward. She also comes with an extra stand with more curved in it to display her in this pose as the standard stand provided doesn’t allow for the forward leaning of this pose.

Nendoroid petit Shiina

Shiina also comes with parts for a more static pose and I really like this one, she looks so full of attitude! Her scarf is detachable and easy to put on or remove as it just slides on over her neck after you remove her head.

Nendoroid petit Shiina back

She’s not really interesting to look at from the back due to the giant chunk of plastic that is her hair! Shiina has two peg holes, one in the back of her hair and one in her back under her hair. I couldn’t get the curved stand plugged into the peg hole in her back but the standard straight stand was easy enough to manoeuvre up there one I shoved her scarf to the side a bit!

Nendoroid petit Shiina face

I love her grumpy expression, I think it suits the character well! I thought the slight blush on the cheeks was a really nice touch too.

Nendoroid petit accessories

Here is Shiina disassembled so you can see all the parts I’ve been talking about!

Nendoroid petit Yuri

Next up is Yuri, who is also known as Yurippe. She’s the leader of the SSS and one of the main characters of the show and also often accused by anime fans of being a Haruhi Suzumiya clone. While I won’t disagree, I don’t mind too much because she uses a gun and I like her colour scheme. Yeah.. I’m really that shallow! Some of my favourite Nendoroid Petit accessories comes with Yuri, which would be her hat and her hand gun! The hat just sits on Yuri’s head so it’s easy to interchange it with any other Petits you have around. Another thing I love about the Yuri Petit is the hands on hips poses she can do.

Nendoroid petit Yuri angry

She also comes with an alternate expression which is a yelling face and my prefered way to pose her!

Broken neck Nendoroid petit Yuri

What is it with me and breaking figures lately? Yuri’s neck joint got stuck in her head when I was taking it off and I had to get Luth to fix it for me. Since it was a clean break and nothing snapped, he simply super glued the neck joint back into the body and we haven’t had any problems with it since then. If you’re wondering how he removed the neck joint from her head.. he used his teeth! Pliers might have been a better option though, haha.

Nendoroid petit Yuri face

The sculpt of Yuri’s hair and ribbon is so lovely, even close up.

Nendoroid petit Yuri accessories

And here is the photo of a torn apart Yuri!

Nendoroid petit Yusa

Moving onto the last Petit of the set, Yusa! She’s an operator in the SSS who reports to Yuri during battle. I’m a bit confused as to why they decided to include Yusa in the set as she’s a minor side character who hardly gets any screen time and Angel Beats isn’t exactly short of cast members. None the less, I’m happy they did decide to include her because she wound up being my favourite from the set! In the anime, she comes off as being an emotionless girl but in nendo form, she seems like the shy, gentle type due to her posing options.

Nendoroid petit Yusa

Ah, she’s so cute! You can remove her earpiece and the plug hole for it is small and hidden enough that it remains rather unnoticable but it leaves a bit of a large gap between her face and her hair. Be careful that you don’t accidently press her earpiece into her face when you’re moving her head like I did, it left a large black stain on my Yusa’s face!

Nendoroid petit Yusa back

Yusa’s twintails are easy to take out of remove so you don’t need to worry about accidently snapping them off. Yuri also has little white bow on her lower back, I find it really adorable!

Nendoroid petit Yusa face

Yusa close up. I got even more marks on her face after taking this photo..

Nendoroid petit Yusa accessories

She doesn’t have quite as many posing options as the other girls but I’m pleased enough with what she comes with. You can kinda see where I left the big mark on Yusa’s face in the above photo, it looks a lot worse off camera. It’s a user issue though and not really an issue with the figure itself.

Nendoroid petit Yusa accessories

The box is pink and.. well yeah, sorta standard looking!

Overall, I’m really impressed with the quality of these Petits. The sculpting is very detailed considering the size of the figures and the paintwork is accurate and very vibrant in colour. I’m really excited about getting Set 02 now considering it contains Kanade, Otonashi and Yui.. some of my favourite characters in the series! I would love to see a Set 03 announced as there are still many characters from Angel Beats I’d like to see in Nendoroid Petit form.

As of writing, this Nendoroid Petit set is instock at Hobby Search for 1700 yen and at AmiAmi for 1660 yen.

My review ended up being a lot more photo heavy than I originally planned! I got lazy and just used my desk and a single desk lamp for my shoot but they were a lot of fun to play around with. You might be able to make out some of my other Nendoroid petits and a few Figma in the background, hehe.

I’ll end now with some photos of me playing around a bit with the set after I took the review shots!

Thanks for reading!

Angel Beats Petits extra shots Angel Beats Petits extra shots

Angel Beats Petits extra shots Angel Beats Petits extra shots

Angel Beats Petits extra shots Angel Beats Petits extra shots

  1. Shiddo
    November 3, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Nice review!
    I want my Shiina alrdy! Still with rest of order somewhere on flight from Japan ><
    So cute! Can't wait to display her along Kan'u ^^

    • Zai
      November 3, 2010 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks a lot, Shiddo! I had such a good time taking photos for it! ^^
      Shiina will look so cute displayed with Kan’u! My Shiina is hanging out with Kaito at the moment. πŸ˜€

  2. November 3, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    I like petit nendoroids a lot =D
    My family and my friends are always complaining about the smell after I unpacked these nendoroids and so I have to keep them outside of the house until the smell is gone XD

    I also wanted to get Shiina from this box and Yui from the other one,
    but buying six petit nendoroids when you only really want two of them is no good idea, I thought.

    nevertheless the three in your review look very nice and cute.
    your pictures are also really nice with the dof effect
    the blonde one with the moveable twintails is so lovely as well as Yuri’s hat πŸ˜‰

    • Zai
      November 4, 2010 at 12:04 am

      Hi Fabienne, thanks once again for your comment and nice compliments! πŸ˜€

      Me too, they’re especially good for saving space!
      Oh no, lol.. how long does it take for their smell to go away when they are outside? I think I’m a little bit weird, I really like the smell of new PVC.. xD
      I think most people don’t though, haha.

      I understand about wanting just 1 Petit from a set too, I would love a Shinobu petit from the Bakemonogatari set 03.

      I went for the dof effect partly because my desk was a bit messy.. ^^;
      I’m glad you like it!

      • November 4, 2010 at 8:37 am

        no problem I really like to visit your blog πŸ™‚

        the paint is the most smelly thing on these figures, I can’t smell the pvc of my other figures

        normally it takes 3-4 weeks until they smell normally ,
        the reason why I don’t buy them during the cold season is that I would feel sorry for them to put them into the cold. XD

  3. November 3, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Hmm, nice pictures and extensive review πŸ˜‰ It’s amazing, but Kaito really looks good in ANYTHING.

    @Fabienne: I know what you mean, they always have such a peculiar smell.. :p And there’s actually a solution when you only want a few figures from a set, try the ‘Let’s Split Boxes’ group from MFC; recommended!

    • Zai
      November 4, 2010 at 12:07 am

      Thank you very much! I love Kaito’s pose, it looks like he’s so proud of his new hat. πŸ˜€

      The Let’s Split Boxes group seems like a really great idea, I’ve been tempted by it a few times.. we would probably be all over it if shipping from the US to my country was a bit cheaper!

      • November 4, 2010 at 11:21 pm

        I know! I should really be careful these upcoming months though, or I’m going to be in a major pinch, haha. And oh, I just catched a glimp of that DM skull + seifuku, it’s quite haunting actually, like it’s floating. Reminds me of those creepy totem masks.

        I was wondering btw, would you like to exchange links? πŸ™‚

    • November 4, 2010 at 8:38 am

      Thanks for the hint =)

  4. Zai
    November 5, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Fabienne :

    no problem I really like to visit your blog :)

    the paint is the most smelly thing on these figures, I can’t smell the pvc of my other figures

    normally it takes 3-4 weeks until they smell normally ,
    the reason why I don’t buy them during the cold season is that I would feel sorry for them to put them into the cold. XD

    I usually can only notice smelly figures right after opening them then it goes away. Except for the Kyon Figma, I could smell him for weeks for some reason. The insides of our detolf displays smell very strong though!

    Wow, 3-4 weeks! I’m too scared to even take figures outside for even a few hours, I’m too overprotective of them, I think. xD

  5. Zai
    November 5, 2010 at 2:12 am

    desolato :

    I know! I should really be careful these upcoming months though, or I’m going to be in a major pinch, haha. And oh, I just catched a glimp of that DM skull + seifuku, it’s quite haunting actually, like it’s floating. Reminds me of those creepy totem masks.

    I was wondering btw, would you like to exchange links? :)

    You too, huh? It’s hard to be careful when there is so much out at the moment that I really like. We have a scary amount of preordered stuff too!
    I kept cracking up while I was taking the photo of the skull in uniform and ended up with a bad shot.. but it was so much fun, hehe.

    I would love to exchange links, thanks! I’ll add you to our blogroll.

  6. BlackRose
    December 8, 2010 at 1:50 am

    lol! great review! I’m getting set 2 of the angel beats nendo pvc figures! They’re in transit, with is torture because I’ll im doing these days is pacing and waiting for them to come!!! GAH!!!

    p.s i wonder if set 2 also has a paint smell?

    • Zai
      December 8, 2010 at 4:10 am

      Thanks for your visit, I’m glad you liked the review! πŸ˜€
      Set 2 is really awesome, I got mine just a couple of days ago. I’m no good at patiently waiting for stuff in transit to arrive either.. every time I hear a car or something pull up outside our apartment I get all excited thinking that it’s the mailman, haha.

      I can only smell anything from Set 02 if I actually sniff them. I don’t think that they’re anymore smelly than any another PVC figures. ^^

  7. BlackRose
    December 9, 2010 at 12:28 am

    You should do a review on set 2!!!

    • Zai
      December 9, 2010 at 1:09 am

      I plan too, hehe. It’ll be fun!
      Will probably have it done in a week or so, have a Figma I wanna review first then will get onto reviewing the Petits! πŸ™‚

  1. November 9, 2010 at 12:44 am
  2. December 6, 2010 at 7:46 am
  3. December 23, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

